/ (1 of 1)
Curated by Franziska Leuthäußer
18 - 25 September 2010
STATTBAD Wedding, Berlin

The exhibition NO FOOD NO DRINK NO STICKY LOLLIES took place at the former Stadtbad Wedding in September 2010. 19 artists from Denmark, Britain, France, Germany, Italy, and the United States dealt with the space and its former function as a public indoor swimming pool as well as with its transition into a new art venue in Berlin, Wedding.

In 2002, swimming in Stadtbad Wedding came to an end. Eight years after its closure, a former public bathing institution became the central theme of the exhibition NO FOOD NO DRINK NO STICKY LOLLIES. The work of the participating artists was shown in the rooms which once served the purpose of bathing and the activities associated with it. STATTBAD, now a privately run art space, served for one week as a model for how art might be integrated in public institutions. The abandoned swimming pool, the emptiness and the deterioration of the building, erected in 1907, were central themes considered by the artists in the exhibition. The use of an existing space, art as a means of communication in everyday life and the discussion of current local developments were key aspects of the exhibition concept.

The exhibition's title, discovered in Australia and imported to Wedding by Danish artist Anders Hellsten Nissen, originates from a handwritten sign hanging on the window of a newspaper shop in a small village in the state of Victoria. Eight years ago it might have hung at the entrance of Stadtbad Wedding as a primer of the rules which followed. In the changing rooms a sign forbidding the wearing of shoes: Barefoot zone, in the pool the safety instructions: Jumping from the sides prohibited. NO FOOD NO DRINK NO STICKY LOLLIES set new rules. Entering the pool prohibited!

With the generous support of:


Jesper Carlsen

Sophie Erlund

Arnika Grosse

Asmund Havsteen-Mikkelsen

Sören Hüttel

Jakob Jensen

Gianluca Malgeri

Howard McCalebb

Line Sandvad Mengers

Anders Hellsten Nissen

Thomas Pausz and Neue Tische

Nathan Peter

Christian Sievers

Matthias Sohr

Rico Solinas

Jürgen Trautwein

Katherine Wallwork

Nico Weber

Matt Willard